Home » News Detail

News Detail

Several European Countries discontinue use of the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine after reports of blood clots

  • 17
    By Katherine Kozlowski, medical author and contributor to Vein News and VeinsVeinsVeins.com

    After the initial approval of Oxford’s AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine, its use has since been suspended after reports of blood clots across Europe and the United Kingdom.

    As of March 16th, 37 cases of thromboembolic events (22 pulmonary embolisms, 5 deep vein thromboses) and two deaths were reported across Europe and the UK. More than 17 million people in the EU and Britain have been given this vaccine.

    Thromboembolism is not a listed side-effect of the AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine, and there is no evidence from clinical trials at this time that indicates the vaccine is the cause of thromboembolic events. Further investigation is warranted.

    Below is the list of countries that have temporarily suspended the use of the AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine:

    1. Denmark

    2. Norway

    3. Bulgaria

    4. Iceland

    5. France

    6. Germany

    7. Italy

    8. Spain

    9. Portugal

    10. Slovenia

    11. Cyprus

    12. Austria (paused the use of a single batch)

    13. Estonia (paused the use of a single batch)

    14. Latvia (paused the use of a single batch)

    15. Lithuania (paused the use of a single batch)

    16. Luxembourg (paused the use of a single batch)

    References: Wise Jacqui. Covid-19: European countries suspend use of Oxford-Astra-Zeneca vaccine after reports of blood clots. BMJ 2021; 372:n699.
    Mahase E. Covid-19: WHO says rollout of AstraZeneca vaccine should continue, as Europe divides over safety. BMJ 2021; 372:n728.